Search Gear
 

Sharon Van Etten Shares New Song off 'Are We There'

April 30, 2014
share
LISTEN TO "EVERY TIME THE SUN COMES UP" HERE
 "Van Etten goes several layers deeper, and faster, than most songwriters. Are We There is the kind of album that many people have been trying to make for years and only a dozen or so have pulled off: words, voice and heartbreak."-- The New Yorker

"The song's levity is a highlight of the album, with the kind of swagger both Loretta Lynn and Rihanna might envy. It's as daring as anything she's recorded." -- The New York Times' T Magazine on "Every Time The Sun Comes Up"

With the release of Sharon Van Etten's tremendous Are We There just under a month away, all things SVE are quickly shifting into high gear! This week kicked off with Sharon premiering "You Know Me Well," a new song off Are We There, on ABC's "Revenge," as well as a fantastic article by Sasha Frere-Jones in the new issue of The New Yorker hitting newsstands across the globe today. And this morning, Sharon is unveiling Are We There's second single, "Every Time The Sun Comes Up," the closing number on Sharon's bold and exceptionally direct and intimate self-produced album. Listen below to this and first single, "Taking Chances," and read The New York Times' T Magazine interview with Sharon about the new single and more - http://nyti.ms/1luCHJy.

Sharon Van Etten's Are We There is out May 27th on Jagjaguwar. "Every Time The Sun Comes Up" is available as an Instant Grat download with the iTunes pre-order beginning tomorrow.

Sharon will tour continuously this spring and summer in support of Are We There. See dates below.

LISTEN TO/SHARE SHARON VAN ETTEN'S "EVERY TIME THE SUN COMES UP" -http://bit.ly/1iuu4t9

"Taking Chances" video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80-_CpH07QQ

"Taking Chances" stream -
http://bit.ly/OQy68K
http://youtu.be/_lnvxrJVbNU

"Taking Chances" Official Lyric Video - http://youtu.be/BqdFciSOQ_s

Sharon Van Etten Tour Dates:
Thu. May 8 - Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse Music Hall
Fri. May 9 - Hudson, NY @ Helsinki Hudson
Sat. May 10 - Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre
Sun. May 11 - Hamden, CT @ Ballroom at the Outer Space
Sun. May 25 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique Grand Salon (Nuits Botanique)
Wed. May 28 - Paris, FR @ Café de la Danse
Fri. May 30 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 1 - Koln, DE @ Studio 672
Mon. June 2 - Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Tue. June 3 - Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Thu. June 5 - London, UK @ KOKO
Wed. June 11 - Boston, MA @ Sinclair
Thu. June 12 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall at Williamsburg (Northside Festival)
Fri. June 13 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Sat. June 14 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Tue. June 17 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Wed. June 18 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Thu. June 19 - Millvale, PA @ Mr. Small's
Fri. June 20 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Sat. June 21 - Nashville, TN @ Exit In
Tue. June 24 - Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Wed. June 25 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Sat. June 28 - Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre
Sun. June 29 - San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Mon. June 30 - San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Wed. July 2 - Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Thu. July 3 - Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Sat. July 5 - Seattle, WA @ Neptune
Sun. July 6 - Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre
Tue. July 8 - Calgary, AB @ Republik
Wed. July 9 - Edmonton, AB @ Starlite Room
Thu. July 10 - Saskataoon, SK @ Amigo's Cantina
Mon. July 14 - Fargo, ND @ Aquarium
Wed. July 16 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. July 17 - Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin
Fri. July 18 - Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Sat. July 19-Sun. July 20 - Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
Thu. Aug. 7 - Sun. Aug. 9 - Goteborg, SE @ Way Out West
Aug. 9 - Olso, NO @ Øyafestivalen
Tue. Aug. 12 - Bezirk-Landstrasse, AU @ Arena Wien Open Air
Fri. Aug. 15 - Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sat. Aug. 16 - Crickhowell, UK @ Glanusk Park - Green Man Festival

Pre-order Sharon Van Etten's Are We There:
iTunes - http://smarturl.it/sharonvanetten3
Amazon - http://smarturl.it/sharonvanetten2
Jagjaguwar/SCD bundle - http://smarturl.it/sharonvanetten
Indies - http://smarturl.it/sharonvanetten4  
Show Comments

These are my comments.

Reader Poll

Do play more hardware or software synths?


See results without voting »