The Pretenders Reveal Brand New Video for 'Holy Commotion'

New Album, 'Alone', out October 21
Image placeholder title

Announce Headlining Shows;

Tickets on Sale Now

New Album, Alone, out October 21

The Pretenders have revealed a brand new video for "Holy Commotion," the first track to be taken from their new album, Alone, out October 21st through BMG. The part-animated video was shot in Nashville at producer Dan Auerbach's studio, and includes footage of Chrissie Hynde and Auerbach, edited by Director / Animator Luca Monterosso Whittmann.


Alone is the first Pretenders album for eight years and was recorded in Nashville, TN. Originally intended as a solo follow-up to 2014's Stockholm, it too soon dawned that those driving guitars, ragged-but-righteous arrangements, tough-yet tender lyrics delivered by the most beautifully distinctive voice of a generation, sounded fantastically familiar. The Pretenders were back. Thirty six years after their remarkable first album, Alone could be the older, wiser, badder sister to that exhilarating debut.

Hynde recorded the album with Auerbach, from The Black Keys, who stood as captain, producer and multi-instrumentalist on the record, an album which sees Hynde at her searingly honest, most incisive best.

The full band joining Hynde and Auerbach on the album features Johnny Cash's former bass player Dave Roe and country rocker Kenny Vaughan on guitar plus sundry members of Dan Auerbach's side project The Arcs: Richard Swift, drums, Leon Michels, keyboards and Russ Pahl providing sly curlicues of pedal steel. The album was mixed by Tchad Blake (Arctic Monkeys, Peter Gabriel, Elvis Costello). Duane Eddy also features on the punchy "Never Be Together."

Of the new album Hynde said: "This record is what I love the most -- real people playing real music."

The Pretenders begin a North American tour with Stevie Nicks on October 25 at Phoenix, AZ's Talking Stick Arena, ending December 18 at The Forum in Inglewood, CA. They have also just announced their own headlining shows in Austin, TX, Durham, NC, Red Bank, NJ, Akron, OH and Portland, OR. The complete tour dates are below. Tickets for the headline shows go on sale starting Friday, September 30 via

Alone will be available on CD/LP/Digital and can be pre-ordered now.



OCTOBER 21, 2016

1. Alone Song

2. Roadie Man

3. Gotta Wait

4. Never Be Together

5. Let's Get Lost

6. Chord Lord

7. Blue Eyed Sky

8. Be The Man That You Are

9. One More Day

10. I Hate Myself

11. Death Is Not Enough

12. Holy Commotion