Veruca Salt to Release 'Ghost Notes' July 10th

Full-Length North American Tour this Summer in Support of Ghost Notes

(Photo credit: Allison Dyer)

Veruca Salt – original members Nina Gordon (guitar/vocals), Louise Post (guitar/vocals), Steve Lack (bass), Jim Shapiro (drums) – will release their first full-length album of new material written and recorded together since 1996. The album, entitled Ghost Notes, was recorded in Los Angeles, and produced by Brad Wood, who helmed production for the band’s seminal, platinum-selling debut, American Thighs. Ghost Notes will be released on July 10th, 2015 on El Camino Records. The album’s cover art, created by the band, is below.

Chicago’s WXRT – the band’s hometown station and longtime supporter - has premiered the album’s brilliant opening track, “The Gospel According To Saint Me,” today on air and online. PRESS HERE to listen to it. The song will continue to be played on air this week as well. A haunting lyric video for the track can also be viewed HERE.

Stereogum has premiered the album’s official first single, a barn-burner of a song called “Laughing in the Sugar Bowl.” PRESS HERE to listen to it now.

Fans who pre-order Ghost Notes HERE will receive both songs as instant downloads.

Veruca Salt will also be embarking on a full-length North American tour this summer in support of Ghost Notes. Tour dates can be found below.

Ghost Notes is an amalgamation of everything that made Veruca Salt into a household name from the beginning and then some. All the hallmarks of the well-loved Veruca Salt sound are there: careening guitars, crashing drums, savory bass lines, and the unmistakable, incredible vocal interplay of the band’s two fearless leaders – Nina Gordon and Louise Post. The album presents a sonic narrative – the story of the band’s rise, demise, reconciliation, and reunion. Songs answer the myriad of questions surrounding their sudden implosion over fifteen years ago, allowing Veruca Salt to truly air their grievances, forgive each other, and make the third album they intended to make back then. Songs that were started in the mid-to-late 90’s and abandoned in the breakup have been reclaimed and reinterpreted, allowing Ghost Notes to serve as a stunning document of all the band left behind, while focusing on everything glorious to come. It is a record of hearts stitched back together and worn proudly on sleeves; a tour de force of friendship, betrayal, desperation, loss, regret, reformation, and redemption. And – at the end – the album is the jubilation of four musical peers who found each other again, and got to reconnect the best way they knew how: through song.

For anyone who proudly head banged through “Seether,” who pogoed along to “Volcano Girls,” who picked up a Les Paul guitar after seeing the band’s epically fierce live show – this one’s for you. #thebitchisback

Veruca Salt tour dates:

Ghost Notes track listing:

1. The Gospel According to Saint Me

2. Black and Blonde

3. Eyes On You

4. Prince of Wales

5. The Sound of Leaving

6. Love You Less

7. Laughing in the Sugar Bowl

8. Empty Bottle

9. Come Clean Dark Thing

10. I’m Telling You Now

11. Triage

12. Lost to Me

13. The Museum of Broken Relationships

14. Alternica

7/8/15 San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar

7/10/15 San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s

7/11/15 Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey

7/21/15 Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge

7/22/15 St. Louis, MO @ The Ready Room

7/23/15 Minneapolis, MN @ The Cedar

7/26/15 Chicago, IL @ Wicker Park Fest

7/28/15 Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace

7/30/15 Boston, MA @ Paradise

7/31/15 New York, NY @ Webster Hall

8/1/15 Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club


Website // Facebook // Twitter // Instagram