Record Plant President To Be Inducted into TEC Awards Hall of Fame

Publish date:
Updated on
Image placeholder title

The TEC Foundation for Excellence in Audio has announced that it will induct Rose Mann Cherney to the TEC Awards Hall of Fame at the 28th Annual Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards® on Friday, January 25, 2013 at the NAMM Show® in Anaheim, California. The TEC Awards® is the professional audio industry's most prestigious recognition of outstanding achievement in audio technology and sound production.

Image placeholder title

Rose Mann Cherney didn't set out to be in the studio business, but, more than 30 years after she began, is still at it as a principal with the world-renowned Record Plant Studios in Los Angeles. It was a chance meeting with her friend—famed musician, composer and producer Al Kooper—that led to a job interview with Record Plant owners Chris Stone and Gary Kellgren, who needed someone to run the studio's front desk and book sessions. Intending to stay for a short time, it wasn't long before she found herself hooked, becoming first studio manager, and ultimately company president and partner. Throughout, she has been responsible for Record Plant's overall operation as well as maintaining its stellar reputation as one of the world's top recording studios.

"Her focus has always been all about technical excellence combined with the service level of a 5-star hotel, a formula that has kept Record Plant on top for many years," says Record Plant CEO and owner Rick Stevens. "Rose has had a profound influence as a studio executive and has literally changed the way modern recording studios operate. She’s broken ground as the first female president of a major recording studio, but it’s always been about the way she treats each client and her uncanny ability to build the team to serve them. Many major figures of the music industry got their start as a Record Plant runner or junior engineer and Rose showed them the way."

Rose Mann Cherney is the first woman to be inducted into the TEC Awards Hall of Fame and joins an illustrious list of inductees including George Martin, Quincy Jones, George Lucas, Phil Ramone, Al Schmitt, Elliot Scheiner, George Massenburg, Rupert Neve and David Hewitt, and a number of other icons of sound and music production. The TEC Awards Hall of Fame was created in 1988 to recognize individuals whose careers have best exemplified the spirit of creative and technical excellence in professional recording and sound.

The TEC Awards is attended by manufacturers of audio equipment and software, and the world’s top music producers, engineers, sound mixers and musical artists. To request news updates on the 28th Annual TEC Awards and for information about the other activities and beneficiaries of the TEC Foundation, visit: