Bay Area Hip-Hop Legends Zion-I Hit the Road with Reggae Rock Favorites Rebelution - EMusician

Bay Area Hip-Hop Legends Zion-I Hit the Road with Reggae Rock Favorites Rebelution

Bay Area Hip Hop Legends Zion I Hit the Road with Reggae Rock Favorites Rebelution on U.S. Tour http www.zionicrew.com   "Zion I has earned a reputation for having a dynamic live act as well as for putting out high
Author:
Publish date:

Bay Area Hip-Hop Legends Zion-I Hit the Road with Reggae Rock Favorites Rebelution on U.S. Tour! http://www.zionicrew.com/

Zion I

"Zion-I has earned a reputation for having a dynamic live act as well as for putting out high-quality albums for the better part of a decade" –Erik Arnold, SF Weekly

Oakland hip-hop duo Zion-I start 2010 off by hitting the road on a three month U.S. tour with Reggae sensations Rebelution and Soja. The twenty city tour will start in Anaheim at House of Blues on January 13 and end up at the House of Blues in West Hollywood on March 6, 2010

"We're excited to go out on the road with these cats," explains Zumbi, emcee of Zion I, "And vibe off an entirely different crowd and audience."

Ten years after the release of their debut single, Zion I released their 6th album, The Takeover, this past year. A filler-free new mix of jabs, roundhouses and uppercuts that continue their streak as one of hip-hop’s most diverse groups in hip-hop. The Takeover, which features guest spots by Houston legend Devin the Dude, UK emcee Ty and Rhymesayers’ Brother Ali, producer AmpLive and emcee Zumbi incorporate the best parts of their live show—perfected through nonstop touring—and bring that vibe to the studio.

Over the course of five LPs and numerous EPs and mixtapes, the group has proven to be a welcome enigma in hip-hop. Lyrically, Zumbi runs the gamut on a range of issues both serious and frivolous, discussing problems and pleasures both spiritual and worldly. Throughout, his fanbase keeps coming back for his smooth delivery and ability to raise issues without sounding didactic. Musically, Amp draws from both the usual (funk, soul) and esoteric (house, drum n bass) to create soundscapes that work as well on an electronic music mixtape as it does hip-hop. An accomplished remixer as well, Amp has remixed everyone from Linkin Park to MGMT, and most recently released Rainydayz Remixes based on Radiohead’s In Rainbows. Every production and remix, though, always brings it back to his main job in Zion I. “I started using way more effects on this album,” says Amp. “So I was able to bring in more elements that I’ve been using for some of the dance and indie rock stuff.”

From the electro-rap homage “DJ DJ” to the spacey futuristic synths of “Antenna,” The Takeover encapsulates the diversity and versatility that have made Zion I Bay Area stalwarts for over a decade. As with any Zion I album, there’ll never be any compromise away from deep thought, but as anyone who’s seen the pair live knows, that means nothing if the crowd ain’t entertained.
One listen to the album, and you’ll know The Takeover may be the most appropriate title of the year.

Headlining the entire tour will be reggae rock favorites, Rebelution. Hailing from Santa Barbara, California, Rebelution has developed into the front runner for grassroots, independent and touring driven music groups representing the Cali-Reggae scene. Originally formed in 2004, members Eric Rachmany (vocals / guitar,) Rory Carey (keyboards,) Wesley Finley (drums,) and Marley D. Williams (bass) met in college, while residing in Isla Vista, a popular beachside community in Santa Barbara. It was there that the seeds to Rebelution’s future would be planted-- and would instill their kick back, “worry free” vibes, catchy refrain, and optimistic, inspiring, and engaging music that would leave their listeners with the sense that they have the power to make this world a better place.

Zion-I are currently supporting their new album, The Takeover, which is available now and also offering 5 free downloads on their site: www.zionicrew.com/download <http://www.zionicrew.com/download>

ZION I Tour w/ Rebelution and Soja

January 14, 2010 Thursday Anaheim , CA House of Blues

January 15, 2010 Friday Ventura CA Ventura Theater

January 16, 2010 Saturday Ventura CA Ventura Theater

January 20, 2010 Wednesday San Francisco CA The Fillmore

January 21, 2010 Thursday San Francisco CA The Fillmore

January 22, 2010 Friday Portland OR Roseland Theatre

January 23, 2010 Saturday Seattle WA Showbox at the Market

January 24, 2010 Sunday Eugene OR W.O.W. Hall

January 26, 2010 Tuesday Bellingham WA Wild Buffalo

January 27, 2010 Wednesday Boise ID Knitting Factory

January 28, 2010 Thursday Salt Lake City UT The Depot

January 29, 2010 Friday Denver CO Gothic Theater

January 30, 2010 Saturday Boulder CO Boulder Theater

January 31, 2010 Sunday Omaha NE Slowdown

February 02, 2010 Tuesday Madison, WI Majestic Theater

February 03, 2010 Wednesday Minneapolis MN Fine Line Music Café

February 04, 2010 Thursday Chicago IL House of Blues

February 05, 2010 Friday Grand Rapids MI The Intersection

February 06, 2010 Saturday Columbus OH Newport Music Hall

February 07, 2010 Sunday Toledo, OH Frankie’s

February 10, 2010 Wednesday Boston MA House of Blues

February 11, 2010 Thursday New York NY Fillmore @ Irving Plaza

February 12, 2010 Friday Washington DC 9:30 Club

February 13, 2010 Saturday Philadelphia PA Fillmore @ Theatre of The Living Arts

February 14, 2010 Sunday Norfolk VA The NorVa *NO SOJA

February 17, 2010 Wednesday Atlanta GA The Masquerade

February 18, 2010 Thursday Ybor City FL The Ritz

February 19, 2010 Friday Orlando FL House of Blues

February 20, 2010 Saturday Jacksonville Beach FL Freebird Live

February 21, 2010 Sunday Jacksonville Beach FL Freebird Live

February 24, 2010 Wednesday New Orleans LA House of Blues

February 25, 2010 Thursday Houston TX House of Blues

February 26, 2010 Friday Austin TX Stubb’s

February 27, 2010 Saturday Dallas TX House of Blues

February 28, 2010 Sunday San Antonio, TX Scout Bar

March 02, 2010 Tuesday Tucson AZ Rialto Theatre

March 03, 2010 Wednesday Tempe AZ Marquee Theatre

March 04, 2010 Thursday San Diego CA House of Blues

March 05, 2010 Friday San Diego CA House of Blues

March 06, 2010 Saturday W. Hollywood CA House of Blues

March 07, 2010 Sunday W. Hollywood CA House of Blues