SEAMUS Celebrates 20 Years


Founded in 1984 by Barry Schrader and nine other composers, SEAMUS, the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States, has grown into a national organization of more than 500 members. SEAMUS promotes electro-acoustic music through its national conferences, publications, Web site and CD series. Each November, the society sponsors Electro-Acoustic Music Month, an international celebration featuring concerts organized by members throughout the world.

Annually, the society presents the SEAMUS Lifetime Achievement Award, which acknowledges those who have made major contributions to the field. Past awards have been made to such luminaries as Vladimir Ussachevsky, Louis and Bebe Barron, Robert Moog, and Les Paul. Working with ASCAP, SEAMUS also presents the yearly ASCAP/SEAMUS Student Commission to recognize young talent.

For more information, visit